02/12/09 //

 

Greetings Folks, I have a handful of updates I’d like to post on the site; to begin with, I was recently announced winner of the Cristena Valdes (Guest Artist) solo piano composition competition at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. A solo recital by Ms. Valdesincluding the premiere of Karttikeya (Study No. 1) will take place at 8pm on March 11 at the BMC Music Center in Las Vegas. The same evening at 6pm, my recent chamber work, Songs of Moonlight & Shadows for soprano, alto flute, cello, percussion and piano, will also be premiered by the NEXTET New Music ensemble at UNLV.

I was also recently selected in the 2009 international call for scores as a participant in the third annual N.E.O.N. (Nevada Encounters of New) Music Festival for the same chamber workSongs of Moonlight & Shadows which will be performed during the festival between April 7-11. Last week on February 4th I had my recent work Five Bagatelles for Horn & Marimbapremiered by Ryan Simm, marimba, and Bryce Nakaoka, Horn. You can find the videos herelater today on Youtube!

Additionally, Takayoshi “Tad”Suzuki, who will be premiering my work for Wind Ensemble A Zarzuela & Other Lost Works in Tokyo this summer with the Tad Wind Symphony, had asked me last November to compose and conduct a work for the UNLV Brass Ensemble. I finished writing on February 1st and we have already begun rehearsals. I will conduct the premiere performance of Vasava on May 1st in Las Vegas, NV.

Thanks for visiting the site, and be sure to check back soon for more updates!

Recently Completed works:

 

Vasava

 

Karttikeya

 

Five Bagatelles

 

Moonlight

 


Leave a Reply

