04/14/09 //

A few updates, N.E.O.N. is over, and I am very pleased to say that it was an excellent experience for everyone involved. I was thoroughly impressed by the caliber of each of the other student composers, and the seminars, masterclasses, concerts and lessons felt like a turning point in my philosophy on compositional process. In other news, I was selected to receive several grants and merit scholarships for composition studies and travel to both Brevard and Tokyo from the Brevard Institute, UNLV and Mu Phi Epsilon. Additionally, I was also announced winner of the 2009 Mu Phi Epsilon composition competition, Division II (Graduate) for my Six Shelley Songs which were written last summer.

Here are a few photos of myself and my colleague Brian Penkrot at the N.E.O.N. festival and symposium with guest composers Ricardo Zohn-Muldoon and Augusta Read Thomas.

   

Leave a Reply

