The Gods of Pegãna (for Orchestra) – Now available

Exclusively through Melos Music.

2(d1Alt)+Picc, 2+Cor, 2(d1Bass)+Es, 2+Contra,
4-2-3-1, Str, Hp, Pno, Timp., 3 Perc.
40 Page Score – 11×17 bound booklet; + full set of parts (rental only); 10-11′ duration; $129.95

For more information, audio, and video samples, click here.

The Gods of Pegãna (A Suite from the Tone Poem for Orchestra; Mov. I-VII, X) by Jason Thorpe Buchanan is based on a 1905 fantasy/alternative creation novel of the same name by Irish author Edward J.M.D. Plunkett (Lord Dunsany) that proposes: “There are in Pegãna Mung and Sish and Kib [the gods of death, time and life], and the maker of all small gods, who is MANA-YOOD-SUSHAI, who made the gods and hath thereafter rested.  And none may pray to MANA-YOOD-SUSHAI but only the gods whom he hath made.  Because he was weary after the making of the gods, and because of the drumming of Skarl, did he grow drowsy and fall asleep.  But at the last will MANA-YOOD-SUSHAI forget to rest, and will destroy the gods whom he hath made.  And there shall be only MANA-YOOD-SUSHAI.  But, when at the last the arm of Skarl shall cease to beat his drum, silence shall startle Pegãna like thunder in a cave, and MANA-YOOD-SUSHAI shall cease to rest.”- from Ch. II-III


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s