Various updates: AWS, newEar, International Horn Society, Iktus Percussion

Handful of updates covering the last month or two, firstly my work “Asymptotic Flux: Second Study in Entropy (Static Foxy Lump: [II] Second Nudist Tyre Pony)” was premiered by Alarm Will Sound in July at the Mizzou International Composers Festival, and they did a fantastic job!  I am still waiting to receive the professional multi track recording, but in the meanwhile I’ve cleaned up a recording I made from the audience, you can take a listen here:

You can also see a handful of excerpts in the video here (low audio quality):

Full video coming soon, just as soon as I receive the official recording!

Secondly, in September my work “Asymptotic Flux: First Study in Entropy” was announced winner of the 4th Annual newEar Composers’ Competition for, including a professional performance and recording with the newEar Contemporary Chamber Ensemble, a cash prize, and a very nice letter from the president of the organization expressing his support and enthusiasm for my work.

The same day, I learned that I have received a commission from the Meir Rimon Commissioning Assistance Program of the International Horn Society for my current project, a double concerto for horn soloists Jeff Nelsen, Michael Walker, and the Eastman Musica Nova Ensemble with conductor Brad Lubman.  The work will be premiered in March, 2014.

Lastly, I completed work on my percussion quartet …durat(A)ions: “broken landscape” for Iktus Percussion last month and they performed it in a concert preview on Oct. 4, in preparation for the official premiere at Galapagos in NYC, Nov. 19, 2013.

You can hear a recording of the tech rehearsal here: 

Check out a preview of the full score on my music page, along with my other recent works: http://jasonthorpebuchanan.com/music.php

I’ll be releasing an HD video of the Iktus Percussion preview concert in the next few weeks, and we’re currently applying for grants to produce a professional recording next year.  Check back for more updates soon!

Leave a Reply

