April Updates: Double Concerto, ASCAP Morton Gould Award, Darcie Dennigan, NYCEMF

March 21st was the very successful premiere of my Double Concerto, with horn soloists Jeff Nelsen, Michael Walker, and the Eastman Musica Nova Ensemble, led by conductor Brad Lubman. The score and program notes can be found here. Many, many, many thanks to Brad, Jeff, Mike, and the ensemble members, who played spectacularly. Audio and video will become available as soon as I have a few spare hours to finish editing!

Now well into April, I’m absolutely thrilled to announce a collaboration between myself and critically acclaimed writer Darcie Dennigan, poet-in-residence at the University of Connecticut and author of “Corinna A-Maying the Apocalypse” (2008) and “Madame X” (2012). I received a first draft of her libretto a few weeks ago for the first scene we are working on, and it is going to be fantastic. I’m now 15 or so pages into sketching fragments from the draft, and looking forward to receiving more of the libretto from her in the coming weeks!! A preliminary segment of our multimedia opera based on Knut Hamsun’s “Sult” will be workshopped at the Internationales Musikinstitut Darmstadt in August 2014 with Ensemble Interface. Some of Darcie’s incredible poetry can be found here.

I’m also extremely honored to announce that I was selected for an ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer Award (2014), for my work Asymptotic Flux: Second Study in Entropy written for and performed expertly by the amazing musicians of Alarm Will Sound last summer. A video of the performance is here, and the press release for the award can be found here, as well as a NewMusicBox article.

I’m additionally very happy that my work Asymptotic Flux: First Study in Entropy was selected for the New York City Electroacoustic Music Festival June 2-8, and we’ll be bringing the [Switch~ Ensemble] out to NYC where I will conduct performances of both my quartet and Chris Chandler‘s sextet Smoke and Mirrors on the festival’s opening concert June 2nd.

For now, it is back to work on the multimedia opera, as well as my trio for Ensemble Nikel and quintet for the Fiati 5 for upcoming premieres in Italy and Israel.

More soon!

– J


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s